History of Industrial Physics

Brief History of the Department

The Department of Industrial Physics was established in 1982 in the then Anambra State University of Technology. When the University was taken over by the Federal Government in 1992 and the University became a conventional University, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, the Department was renamed Physics and Industrial Physics and the programme content was changed to reflect the new status of the Department. The Department structure comprises the Head of Department, the academic staff, technical staff, administrative staff and students.

Philosophy of the Programme

The Physics and Industrial Physics Programme aims at giving the students the strong theoretical and practical background they need to understand the working of the universe. The idea behind the programme is that of developing specialized technical/managerial manpower in the field of Solid State Physics, Electronics, Astrophysics, Geophysics and Solar Energy Physics.

Aim and Objectives

The broad aim is to produce and train both theoretically and practically sound Physicists who will be able to make meaningful contributions toward technological development of our nation. The basic objectives of the B.Sc. programme include among others;

  • to teach the students the basic scientific concepts which they can apply in solving physical problems.
  • to equip the students with the knowledge needed for industrial manpower and growth.
  • to impart knowledge in the theoretical and practical Physics necessary for career growth in the oil and gas industry, research institutes, banks, ICT, and other areas of self-sufficiency.
  • Produce well-disciplined graduates who will excel in the public service and even politics.